Nobel Prize In Literature For 2018 & 2019 Announced

by Ritu Versha 2 years ago Views 1111

Olga Tokarczuk, Peter Handke
The Nobel Prize for Literature was doled out to two authors: Polish writer Olga Tokarczuk, who won the postponed 2018 award, and Austrian author Peter Handke, who won the prize for this year.

Tokarczuk, 57, was recognized for “a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life”, and Handke, 76, for “an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience”.

The 2018 prize was delayed by one year after a sexual assault scandal rocked the award-giving Swedish Academy.

This is for the first time in nearly half a century — two writers were honoured as Nobel laureates, rather than just one.

Along with their medal, the winners will each receive 9 million kronor (about $918,000) at a ceremony expected to be held on Dec. 10 in Stockholm.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed