After BJP MLAs' Resignation, Congress Preparing To Form Government In Manipur

by GoNews Desk 10 months ago Views 1179

After BJP MLAs' Resignation, Congress Preparing To

In BJP-ruled Manipur, the state government is stuck in crisis after the resignation of its three MLAs. All the three MLAs who have resigned have joined the Congress. The BJP was trying to overcome the shock when three more cabinet ministers withdrew their support from the government, apart from deputy CM Y Joykumar Singh from the quota of the ally NPP.

In the midst of this political turmoil, the main opposition party of the state, Congress, has started preparing to form the government. Manipur Congress spokesperson Ningombam Bupenda Meitei said that new sun would rise in Manipur and he was confident that Ibobi Singh, who was a three-time chief minister, would be the new chief minister and the Congress would lead the coalition government. Meitei did not stop here, he attacked the Bharatiya Janata Party fiercely, and said that the fall of the BJP government is the beginning of the decline of PM Narendra Modi and his party in the whole country.

The BJP MLAs who resigned from the party include S Subhash Chandra Singh, TT Haokip and Samuel Zendai. Besides TMC MLA T Robindro Singh, Deputy CM Y Joy Kumar Singh from the National People's Party,the three ministers who resigned from the cabinet were Tribal and Hill Region Development Minister N Kayisi, Youth Welfare and Sports Minister Letpao Haokip and Health and Family Welfare Minister L Jayant Kumar Singh. While Deputy CM Y Joy Kumar Singh had responsibility of the Ministry of Finance.

When the assembly elections were held in 2017, the Congress was the largest party with 28 MLAs in the 60-member Manipur Assembly. At the same time, BJP had won 21 seats while four MLAs of National People's Party and Naga People's Front also won in the elections. While TMC, LJP and Independents got one seat each. But all the parties rallied against the Congress and gave their support to the BJP, then N. Biren Singh became the Chief Minister of the state.

Eight Congress MLAs joined the BJP after the election against which the Manipur Congress had approached the High Court. On June 8, the Manipur High Court has barred 7 Congress MLAs from entering the state assembly, while one MLA has already been disqualified. It is being said that this decision has been taken in view of the Rajya Sabha elections to be held on June 19.

Now if there is a majority test in the assembly, after the resignation of eight Congress MLAs and three BJP MLAs, 11 MLAs will not be able to participate in the voting process. In this situation, the strength of the house will be reduced from 60 to 49 now, after which the BJP-led coalition can get only 22 votes and the Congress alliance can get 26 votes.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed