Congress Loses Key Parliamentary Panels

by Ritu Versha 2 years ago Views 1712

parliamentary committees
In a departure from the usual practice, BJP MPs will now head the Parliamentary standing committees on finance and external affairs, replacing the Congress MPs on the two crucial panels.

In the 17th Lok Sabha, BJP MPs Jayant Sinha and PP Choudhary will chair the key committee on finance and external affairs respectively. In the previous Lok Sabha, Congress' Veerappa Moily and Shashi Tharoor used to head the two committees. 

Tharoor, who had headed the panel on external affairs committee in the 16th Lok Sabha, will now lead the Standing Committee on Information Technology.

However, Tharoor had expressed his dismay over the government's decision to deny the Opposition MP the chairperson’s post in the external affairs panel. He had tweeted: “In the entire history of Parliamentary Standing Committees, the [committee] on External Affairs has always been headed by an Opposition Lok Sabha MP. Our tradition is foreign policy bipartisanship: our political differences stop at the nation’s borders. Dismaying.” 

While Anand Sharma is the only Congress MP to head a committee on home affairs, Rahul Gandhi has been moved from the parliamentary committee on external affairs to the panel on defence.

Out of 24 standing committees, 13 committees are headed by BJP and four by Congress.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed