Jharkhand Assembly Poll: Cong-JMM Grand Alliance Throws BJP Out Of Power

by GoNews Desk 5 months ago Views 982
Jharkhand Assembly Polls: Cong-JMM Touches Majorit
Though the official announcement of the Jharkhand Assembly poll results is yet to be made, the picture is clear.

The JMM-Congress-RJD grand alliance has successfully thrown BJP out of power who is seen narrowing down to just 25 seats, while the Grand Alliance has crossed the majority mark with 46 seats in the 81-seat assembly.

Also Read: India Beat West Indies By 4 Wickets In Cuttack ODI, Seal Series 2-1

Even Raghubar Das who served as the Chief Minister under the previous BJP government in the state has almost lost to party rebel and Independent candidate Saryu Rai in Jamshedpur East.

He said that he tried to deliver development in the state but now he respects the mandate. "The BJP will accept the people's mandate, whatever it is. If at all the BJP loses after the final results, I will consider it as my defeat,” Das said.

Apart from this, many BJP ministers are also on the verge of defeat.

The defeat is a major setback for the BJP. Between March 2018 and December 2019, the BJP has lost four states: Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Maharashtra and Jharkhand.

The Mahagathbandhan, which ousted the BJP from power, was headed by Hemant Soren, the executive president of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. The Grand Alliance had already declared him its chief ministerial candidate and now he is certain to become the Chief Minister of the state.

On this victory, Hemant Soren said, "I express heartfelt thanks to Guruji Shibu Soren, Sonia Gandhi, Laloo ji, Rahul ji and Priyanka ji and to all those who have reposed faith in me,” said Mr. Soren.

"A new chapter is starting in the state from today. I want to assure all the people that their hopes will not be broken regardless of caste, religion or profession," he said. Soren also thanked the people of the state for the victory.

Earlier, donning brave face, incumbent Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das refuses to concede defeat despite the latest trends showing the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance touching the majority mark 41 in the 81-seat assembly. BJP is second leading on 29 seats.

Speaking to reporters, Das says 20 seats are still in the fray with very close margins and counting is not yet over.

Elections were conducted for Jharkhand in five phases from November 30 to December 20. The counting began in all the 24 district headquarters of Jharkhand at 8 am on Monday. 

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed