Margaret Atwood & Bernardine Evaristo Share Booker Prize 2019

by GoNews Desk 7 months ago Views 522
Booker Prize 2019
Seventy-nine-year old Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo have been awarded this year’s prestigious Booker Prize. It is after 27 years that two authors have been jointly awarded this prize. While Margaret Atwood is a resident of Canada, Bernardine Evaristo belongs to Britain.

The rules had been changed in 1992 and judges could only declare one winner. According to the Booker Prize rules, this award cannot be shared. But judges stressed that they were unable to pick one winner from among Atwood and Evaristo. 

Also Read: GoPlus: Top News of the Day

Atwood was awarded for her novel “The Testaments” and Evaristo was given the prize for her novel “Girl, Women, Other”.

Margaret Atwood, 79, became the oldest writer to win this award. Atwood has been given this prize for the second time. In 2000, she had been given the award for her novel “The Blind Assassin”. Evaristo has become the first black woman and the first black British writer to have won the Booker. The prize is given for original English novels each year and is well known for literature.

Watch the full report here:

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed