MP Bypolls: Scindia’s Credibility At Stake, ‘Do Or Die' Situation For Congress

by GoNews Desk 5 months ago Views 1851

MP Bypolls: Scindia’s Credibility At Stake, ‘Do Or
On Tuesday, votes were cast for 94 Assembly seats in Bihar as well as for by-elections to 54 Assembly constituencies spread across 10 states. These include 28 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 8 in Gujarat, 7 in Uttar Pradesh, 2 each in Karnataka, Jharkhand, Odisha and Nagaland, while 1 seat each in Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Haryana. The most crucial by-election among the ten states is of MP because the by-elections in the other nine states were due to the death of MLAs or their elevation to MPs.

In MP bypolls, more than 25 Congress MLAs followed MP Jyotiraditya Scindia out of the Congress and joined the BJP to topple the Kamal Nath government. In March, Shivraj Singh Chauhan again took oath as CM and included 14 of the 28 MLAs who joined BJP. At the same time, the political fortunes of 14 ministers including Jyotiraditya Scindia are also at stake in this election.

Ministers whose fate is at stake include Revenue and Transport Minister Govind Singh Rajput, who represent Surkhi constituency; Tulsi Silawat, Water Resources Minister from Sanwar constituency; Minister for Women and Force Development, Imarti Devi from Dabra; Panchayat and Rural Development Minister Mahendra Singh from Bamori; Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection Minister Bisahulal Singh from Sisodia; Health Minister Prabhuram Chaudhary from Sanchi among the credibility of 14 ministers are at stake.

In MP Legislative Assembly, independents currently have 107 seats in the 230-member state assembly, BJP 107, Congress 87, BSP 2, SP 1 and 4 seats. While 29 seats are vacant, 28 of these are currently being held by-elections and last week, another Congress MLA from Damoh, Rahul Singh, joined BJP and resigned from the assembly.

Madhya Pradesh has a majority figure of 116 and the BJP needs only 9 seats to stay in power, whereas if the Congress has to come back to power, then all 28 seats will have to be occupied which is very difficult. Apart from Madhya Pradesh, voting was held in 8 seats in Gujarat, 7 in Uttar Pradesh, 2-2 in Karnataka, Jharkhand, Odisha and Nagaland, while 1 seat each in Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Haryana. The results for all the 54 seats will be declared on November 10 along with the results of the Bihar Legislative Assembly.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed