One More Congress MLA Resigns From Gujarat Assembly, Till Now Eight MLAs Left Party

by GoNews Desk 11 months ago Views 1460

One More Congress MLA Resigns From Gujarat Assembl

Before the Rajya Sabha elections, to be held on June 19, another Gujarat Congress MLA resigned on Friday. In another jolt to Congress, the resignation of MLA Brijesh Merja from the Morbi assembly seat was confirmed by Gujarat Assembly Speaker Rajendra Trivedi. Trivedi said that Congress MLA Brijesh Merja quit the primary membership of the Congress Party along with submitting his resignation.

Earlier on Thursday, two Congress MLAs Akshay Patel and Jeetu Chaudhary resigned. Akshay Patel was a Congress MLA from Karjana of Vadodara and Jitu Chaudhary from the Kaprada assembly seat in Valsad.

Elections are to be held in four Rajya Sabha seats in the state on June 19, but before that, the resignation of three MLAs is a big setback for the Congress. Five Congress MLAs also resigned in March, including Limdi MLA Somabhai Patel, Dhari MLA JV Kakadia, Abdasa MLA Pradyuman Singh Jadeja, Dang MLA Mangal Gavit, and Gadda MLA Praveen Maru.

After the resignation of these three Congress MLAs, the BJP has 103 and the Congress 65 in the 182-member Gujarat Assembly. To win one Rajya Sabha seat in Gujarat, both parties need at least 68 votes. That is, the Congress needs at least 34 votes to win two seats, but after the resignation spree of its MLAs, it is a daunting challenge for them.So far, the BJP has announced three candidates while Congress has announced two. The BJP has fielded Abhay Bhardwaj, Ramila Bara, and Narhari Amin, while the Congress has fielded senior leaders Shaktisinh Gohil and Bharatsinh Solanki.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed