Political Leaders Pay Tribute To 2001 Parliament Attack Martyrs

by GoNews Desk 7 months ago Views 1097
Political Leaders Pay Tribute To Martyrs Of 2001 P
All political parties have paid homage to martyrs on the 18th anniversary of the attack on Parliament. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, interim Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, former Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and representatives of most parties have offered floral tributes to martyrs.

President Ram Nath Kovind has tweeted and paid tribute to the martyred security personnel and others.

Also Read: Despite Heavy Rain, AQI Remains Above 300 In Delhi-NCR

The Parliament attack had taken place at 11.30 a.m. on December 13, 2001, in which nine people, including five security forces personnel, had been killed. At that time, Jaish terrorists had entered Parliament in a white Ambassador car and firing had started.

Five personnel of the Delhi Police, one CRPF woman constable, two Parliament guards and one gardener had lost their lives in the attack.

At the time of the attack, the winter session of Parliament was underway and personages such as the then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, opposition leader Sonia Gandhi, erstwhile Home Minister Lal Krishna Advani, among several other political stalwarts, were present in the House.

However, in retaliatory action, security forces had gunned down all five terrorists and all representatives of the people had been safely rescued.

In this attack, the trial court had sentenced to death Afzal Guru, Shaukat Hasan and DU Professor S.A.R. Geelani. However, the court had later exonerated Prof. Geelani. Shaukat Hasan’s sentence was commuted from execution from hanging to 10 years’ imprisonment and Afzal Guru’s sentence of hanging was carried out. Guru was hanged till death on February 9, 2013.

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed