Voting For Final Phase Of Jharkhand Assembly Elections Underway

by GoNews Desk 9 months ago Views 874
Voting For Final Phase Of Jharkhand Assembly Elect
Voting is underway since 7 a.m. on Friday on 16 seats of six districts in the fifth and final phase of the Jharkhand assembly elections. Out of the 16 seats, votes on five seats will be cast till 3 p.m. and on the remaining 11 seats till 5 p.m.

In the fifth phase, a total of 237 candidates are in the fray, among which 29 are women. The maximum number of candidates -- at 26 -- are contesting from the Jarmundi seat.

Also Read: Only 12,000 Of 2 Lakh Refugees In India Seeking Asylum

There are a total of 40,05,287 voters in these seats, out of which 20,49,921 are male and 19,55,336 are female voters.

In the fifth and final phase, the reputations of several stalwarts, including Hemant Soren, former Chief Minister and working president of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, minister Louis Marandi and Randhir Singh, are at stake.

Hemant Soren and Louis Marandi are facing off on the Dumka seat. Hemant Soren is also contesting from the Barhet seat.

In the 2014 Assembly elections, from among these 16 seats, JMM had won six, BJP had won five, Congress had won three and JVM had won two seats.

With the completion of the fifth and final phase of voting, polling will also be complete on 81 seats in Jharkhand.

The first phase of voting for 13 seats in Jharkhand took place on November 30, the second phase of polling for 20 seats was held on December 7, the third phase of voting for 17 seats took place on December 12 and the fourth phase of polling for 15 seats was held on December 16. Votes will be counted on December 23.

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed