Dhoni, Rohit Declared Joint-Best IPL Captains, De Villiers Greatest Player Of All Time

by GoNews Desk 4 years ago Views 5499

To mark the 13th anniversary of the Indian Premier League, Star Sports' expert jury on a TV show picks up the Greatest of All Time (GOATs) players and coaches of the glamorous tournament. 

Chennai Super Kings captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and his Mumbai Indians counterpart Rohit Sharma were declared joint Greatest of All Time (GOATs) captains of the IPL, whilst AB de Villiers emerged as the GOAT in the batsmen category and Lasith Malinga took away the title in the bowlers category. Shane Watson, one of CSKs vital cog in the wheel, won the battle among the all-rounders.

Royal Challengers Bangalore and Team India captain Virat Kohli was voted the IPL's greatest Indian batsman for being the highest scorer in the history of the tournament with 5412 runs in 177 matches at a staggering average of 37.84.

In the coach's category, former New Zealand Captain and the current coach of Chennai Super Kings, Stephen Fleming emerged as the winner.

About the Jury

The jury comprised of 50 members which included former cricketers (20), senior sports journalists (10), statisticians & analysts (10), broadcasters (7) and anchors (3) and analysts who chose the best among the list of top 10 players in each category and a list of 5 players each in categories of Greatest Captain and Coach.

A shortlist of 3 names based on the 50-member jury's votes were then deliberated upon by former KKR captain and two-time IPL champion Gautam Gambhir, former England captain and World T20-winning batsman Kevin Pietersen, ICC World Cup and IPL champion Ashish Nehra, 2007 ICC World T20-winning all-rounder Irfan Pathan and former New Zealand pacer and VIVO IPL commentator Danny Morrison, who picked the winners.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed