England Announce Schedule For West Indies Test Series

by GoNews Desk 1 year ago Views 5196

Series Schedule
In an official statement released by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), England will play three Tests against the West Indies in July, subject to UK government clearance to return behind closed doors. England's three-Test series against West Indies will begin on July 8 at the Ageas Bowl, followed by two Tests at Old Trafford on July 16 and July 24.

"The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has today announced that Hampshire's Ageas Bowl and Lancashire's Emirates Old Trafford will host England Men's Test series against West Indies if international cricket returns behind closed doors in July," the statement on ECB's official website said.

"The West Indies squad will arrive in the UK on Tuesday 9 June, travelling to Emirates Old Trafford for quarantining and training. This will be their base for a three-week period before moving to the Ageas Bowl for the start of the first Test," it added.

The two venues were selected because they are deemed to be bio-secure because of on-site hotels.

ECB Director of Events, Steve Elworthy -- who is leading on English cricket's bio-secure operational plans -- added: "Our main objective is to deliver a safe environment for all stakeholders including players, match officials, operational staff, essential venue staff, broadcasters and media.

"We are in daily dialogue with government and our medical team, who have been incredibly supportive during this period. These are our proposed dates and they remain subject to UK Government approval.

"We would like to thank Cricket West Indies for their co-operation and dedication in making this tour a reality, and we all look forward to the prospect of cricket returning in the coming weeks."

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed