India Wins T20 Series Against Sri Lanka

by GoNews Desk 7 months ago Views 1029
India Wins T20 Series Against Sri Lanka
The third and final match of the three-match T20 series between India and Sri Lanka was played at Pune’s Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium on Friday, in which India beat Sri Lanka by 78 runs and won the series 2-0.

Sri Lanka won the toss and invited India to bat first. India had a good start batting first and both its openers scored half-centuries. India made 201 runs in 20 overs with a loss of six wickets and set a target of 202 runs for Sri Lanka to win the match.

Also Read: A Resolution For The New Decade

Playing for India, Lokesh Rahul made 54 runs and Shikhar Dhawan made 52 runs. 

Bowling for Sri Lanka, Lakshan Sandakan took three wickets - the most in the match. Chasing the target of 202 runs set by India, Sri Lanka had a very poor start and lost four of its players at a score of just 26 runs.

Later, the entire Sri Lanka team was declared out at a score of 123 runs in 15.5 overs and India won the match by 78 runs. Playing for Sri Lanka, Dhananjaya de Silva made the most - 57 - runs.

Bowling for India, Navdeep Saini took three wickets, while Shardul Thakur and Washington Sundar took two wickets each. 

With 22 runs and two wickets, Shardul Thakur was declared Player of the Match, while Navdeep Saini, with five wickets in the entire series, was Player of the Series.

With this win, while India won the series 2-0, it also won a T20 series against Sri Lanka for the sixth time. Both teams have played a total of seven T20 series till now, out of which India has won six series while one series ended in a draw.

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed