IPL 2022: Highlights| Rajasthan Royals(RR) Beat Mumbai Indians(MI) By 23 Runs

by GoNews Desk 1 year ago Views 839

IPL 2022: Highlights| Rajasthan Royals(RR) Beats M
On Saturday, the Rajasthan Royals (RR) beat the Mumbai Indians (MI) by 23 runs at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, claiming their second consecutive victory in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022.

Jos Buttler became the season's first century with a superb effort that propelled Rajasthan Royals to a dominating total of 193/8, which the RR bowling team successfully defended to win the game by 23 runs. The task of pursuing a 194-run total for the Mumbai Indians' unchanged eleven was difficult. MI captain Rohit Sharma struck Prasidh Krishna for six runs, but was caught at backward point and bowled in the same over.

In the fourth over, Navdeep Saini handed up a six and a couple of fours, but the bowler bounced back with a wicket to knock Anmolpreet Singh for 5. With Kishan and Tilak Varma in the crease, MI was up 50-2 at the end of the powerplay. The pair put on a solid third-wicket stand and kept the runs coming. Kishan played second fiddle to Varma when it came to striking. MI were 94-2 at half-time as Varma hit an overpitched delivery for six to set up the fifty-run stand for the third wicket.

Kishan reached his half-century in the 13th over when he hit a four off Trent Boult, but he was caught in the outfield by Navdeep Saini on the penultimate delivery of the over. MI needed 65 runs off the final six overs, and Tilak Varma got his first IPL fifty. The batsman reverse-swept Ashwin for a six, but was bowled out the following delivery by the spinner. In the 16th over, Yuzvendra Chahal took two wickets on successive deliveries, dismissing Tim David and Daniel Sams.

In the final three overs, MI needed 50 runs. MI got closer in the 18th over, when Keiron Pollard smacked a four and a six off Bolt's bowling. Pollard was given a respite in the penultimate over, as Prasidh Krishna's over yielded 9 runs, and MI just needed 29 runs from the next six deliveries. RR's score was successfully defended through to Navdeep Saini's final over wicket of Pollard. The Rajasthan Royals, who were given the opportunity to bat first, made one change in their lineup: Navdeep Saini replaced Nathan Coulter-Nile.

After Yashasvi Jasiwal was caught within the circle in the third over, MI made early headway as Jasprit Bumrah struck. Jos Buttler, on the other hand, smashed 26 runs in the fourth over, including two fours and three sixes, bowled by Basil Thampi. After Devdutt Padikkal was caught by skipper Rohit Sharma, MI finished the powerplay on a strong note, and RR were 48-2 after six overs. Sanju Samson, the RR captain, joined Buttler in the middle as the wicket-keeper batsman hit the half-century mark with two consecutive boundaries against Daniel Sams in the eighth over.

At one end, Murugan Ashwin kept things quiet, but Tymal Mills let up 14 runs in the tenth over. RR was 87-2 at the half-way point when Samson completed the over with a six. The 11th over, bowled by Murugan Ashwin, yielded 21 runs as boundaries rained down from both Samson and Buttler as the fifty partnership was up for the third wicket. After only 6 runs from the 14th over, RR loses captain Samson, who was caught in the deep by Tilak Varma.

RR were 144-3 with four overs left in the innings when Shimron Hetmyer, the replacement batsman, smashed two sixes and three fours against Pollard in the 17th over. In the 18th over, the left-handed player increased the total with a six and a four. In the penultimate over, Jos Buttler achieved the season's first century. Due to Bumrah's superb death bowling, MI managed to take up three wickets in the over. Hetmyer and Buttler were both knocked out by the pacer, while Ravichandran Ashwin was run out for one.

RR concluded the first innings with a score of 193-8 after MI took two more wickets in the last over delivered by Tymal Mills.

Brief Scores: 

Rajasthan Royals: 193/8  (Jos Buttler 100, Shimron Hetmyer 35; Jasprit Bumrah 3-17) 

Mumbai Indians: 170/8 (Tilak Verma 61, Ishan Kishan 54; Yuzvendra Chahal 2-26) 

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed