Lionel Messi Bags Ballon d'Or Award For Record Sixth Time

by GoNews Desk 8 months ago Views 1056
Lionel Messi Bags Ballon d'Or Award For Record Six
Star footballer Lionel Messi has scripted history by winning the Ballon d’Or Award for the sixth time. Messi had last won this award in 2015.

Along with Messi, England’s Megan Rapinoe has won this award in the women’s category.

Also Read: Indian Engineer Credited For Finding Vikram Moonlander's Debris

Responsible for taking the Argentina and Barcelona football clubs to new heights of success, Messi has defeated Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo and the Netherlands’ Virgil van Dijk to win this award for the sixth time.

Earlier, he had won this award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015. Messi has also won the FIFA Best Footballer award this year.

Meanwhile, among women players, England’s star player Megan Rapinoe has won the Women’s Ballon d’Or Award. She had scored six goals in five World Cup matches. Thirty-four-year-old Rapinoe defeated England’s Lucy Bronze and America’s Alex Morgan to win this award.

The Ballon d’Or is considered to be the biggest award for football players.

Watch the full report here:

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed