Three Win Nobel Prize In Physics For Cosmology

by Ritu Versha 1 year ago Views 1681

Nobel prize 2019
The 2019 Nobel Prize for physics has been jointly awarded to Canadian-American physicist James Peebles, and Swiss scientists Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz. 

James Peebles won one half of the prize for "theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology", and the other half was jointly shared by Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for "the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star."

"This year's Nobel Prize in Physics rewards new understanding of the universe's structure and history, and the first discovery of a planet orbiting a solar-type star outside our solar system," tweeted the Nobel committee. "The discoveries have forever changed our conceptions of the world."

The prize will be split with one half to James Peebles and the other half shared by Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz. The laureates will also receive a gold medal, a diploma at a ceremony in Stockholm on December 10.

Watch the full story here:

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed