Political Timeline As PM Modi Turns 69

by Ritu Versha 4 years ago Views 4285

Modi Birthday
Prime Minister Narendra Damodardas Modi, one of Independent India’s most populist leaders, celebrates his 69th birthday on Tuesday, here are some of the milestones he crossed in his political career:

After being an RSS worker for several years, Modi entered mainstream politics by joining the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) in 1987. Within a year, he was made the General Secretary of the party’s Gujarat unit.

In 1995, when BJP came to power individually in Gujarat, Modi was appointed as the National Secretary of the party. He was elevated to the post of General Secretary in 1998 and held the position till 2001. 

In 2001, Modi swore in as the Chief Minister of Gujarat on October 7. He was chosen to replace Gujarat's then Chief Minister Keshubhai Patel since the latter's health was deteriorating. He was elected to power in a by-poll on February 24, 2002. 

On February 27, 2002, a train, carrying Hindu pilgrims travelling from Ayodhya after performing a ceremony at the demolished Babri Masjid site, was set ablaze in Godhra. The fire killed hundreds of both Hindus and Muslims. Cases were filed against Modi over his alleged personal involvement in the incident. The UK criticised his role in the riots in 2002, and Modi was even denied a diplomatic visa by the US in 2005 citing his alleged involvement.

On December 22, 2002, he was re-elected as the CM of Gujarat with a landslide victory of 127 of 182 seats. He created a record by winning a third successive term as Gujarat CM from December 23, 2007, till December 20, 2012.

He took oath as CM in his fourth term on December 20, 2012, but later resigned in 2014 from the assembly.

Modi established himself as a prime ministerial candidate and contested 2014 Lok Sabha elections for the first time. BJP eventually became the first party to win majority number of seats of 282 in the Lok Sabha polls, with Modi himself winning in both his constituencies - Vadodara and Varanasi. He swore in as the PM of India on May 26, 2014.

The 2019 general elections were once again in favour of 'Modi sarkar' as the NDA coalition had won a whopping 353 seats in the 543-member Parliament. Narendra Modi took oath as the Prime Minister for the second term on May 30, 2019.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed