Dissent Breaks Out After Maharashtra, Haryana Candidates List

by GoNews Desk 8 months ago Views 477
Dissent Breaks Out After Maharashtra, Haryana Cand
Along with the declaration of candidates for the Maharashtra and Haryana assembly elections, what has also become public is the infighting in the two parties.

In Maharashtra, while Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders are sloganeering against their state chief, former Haryana Congress chief Ashok Tanwar sat down on a protest outside Sonia Gandhi’s house on Wednesday.

Also Read: Garba Celebrations In Full Swing In Gujarat

A short while ago, Ashok Tanwar held a press conference, along with his supporters, at the Constitution Club of India and said that in a letter written to Sonia Gandhi, he has resigned from all party posts. However, he said that he will continue to work as a member of the party.

All parties have nearly announced the names of their candidates for the Haryana-Maharashtra assembly elections but after ticket distribution, a terrible fight has broken out in these parties.

Factionalism between Bhupinder Singh Hooda and Ashok Tanwar is evident in the Haryana Congress. After ticket distribution, Ashok Tanwar has been upset and miffed with the decision. He held a protest along with his supporters outside 10, Janpath, the residence of Sonia Gandhi. Tanwar also accused party leaders of selling tickets. With elections just a few days away, the ongoing bickering between two important leaders of Haryana Congress could affect the poll results which will be out on October 24.

On the other hand, in Maharashtra, angry over ticket distribution, BJP leaders and workers surrounded the houses of state BJP chief Chandrakant Patil and Union minister Nitin Gadkari.

Demonstrators complained that their party is giving more preference in ticket distribution to leaders who have come from Congress - Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). BJP has given tickets to 12 leaders who have come from Congress-NCP. The BJP is also being accused of racial discrimination.

Meanwhile, in Kalyan near Mumbai, six counselors close to BJP MLA Narendra Pawar have resigned because in ticket distribution the Kalyan seat has been given to the Shiv Sena.

Shiv Sainiks are very angry with the BJP for contesting the elections from all eight assembly seats in Pune. Shiv Sena wanted to fight elections on at least two seats in Pune. Angry Shiv Sainis have not even opened the locks of the party office in two days.

Watch the full story here ---

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed