MP Bypolls: BJP Secures Govt After Winning 19 Seats, Congress Bags 9 Seats

by GoNews Desk 5 months ago Views 1515

MP Bypolls: Shivraj Secures Govt After Winning 19
CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan has managed to save its government in Madhya Pradesh after the BJP won 19 seats in the by-elections to 28 Assembly seats.

While the Opposition Congress Party could grab only 9 out of 28 seats. After winning these 19 seats, now the BJP has more than 126 seats, which is 10 more than the majority figure of 116 in the state.

In the bypolls,14 ministers of Madhya Pradesh government were in the election fray and all the loyalists of Jyotiraditya Scindia who left the Congress and joined BJP. But three of these 14 ministers lost in the bypolls, including Adal Singh Kansana from Sumawali seat, Girraj Dandotiya from Dimani and Minister Imarti Devi from Dabra Assembly.

While the remaining 11 ministers — Govind Singh Rajput, Tulsiram Silavat, Pradyuman Singh Tomar, Mahendra Singh Sisodia, Dr. Prabhuram Chaudhary, Bisahulal Singh, Hardeep Singh Dung, Rajvardhan Singh Dattigaon, Brijendra Singh Yadav, Suresh Dhakad and OPS Bhadoria secured a win.

In March, Jyotiraditya Scindia left the Congress with 25 MLAs and joined the BJP and toppled the Congress's Kamal Nath government. Then in March, Shivraj Singh Chauhan again assumed the CM post and after that 14 of the 25 MLAs who defected to the BJP from Congress were included in the cabinet. Apart from the resignation of these 25 MLAs, byelections were held to three seats following the death of MLAs.

In Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly, the BJP currently has 126 seats, 116 seats more than the majority-mark. With the victory in 9 seats, the Congress number has now reached 96 in the state assembly. Apart from this, BSP has 2, SP has 1, 4 independents and one seat is vacant after the resignation of Congress MLA Rahul Singh from Damoh.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed