IPL 2022: Highlights| Lucknow Super Giants(LSG) Defeat Chennai Super Kings(CSK) By 6 Wickets

by GoNews Desk 2 years ago Views 899

IPL 2022: Highlights| Lucknow Super Giants(LSG) De
The Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) won their first game of the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on Thursday at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, defeating the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 6 wickets.

Evin Lewis' intriguing undefeated innings of 55*(23) lead the Super Giants to their first victory of the season in a massive chase of 211. Andrew Tye substituted Mohsin Khan in the eleven for the Lucknow Super Giants, who had made one change from their previous match.

The LSG openers started on a strong note, as both de Kock and skipper KL Rahul played some bold shots at the top with a monumental task ahead of them of chasing a score of 211. De Kock was dropped inside the circle by Moeen Ali in the 6th over, placing LSG at 55/0 at the end of the powerplay. The LSG openers were striking at ten an over, with runs flowing freely off the bats of de Kock and the Super Giants skipper. Rahul hit his hundredth six of the season, and the LSG openers were striking at ten an over.

De Kock reached fifty in the tenth over, which was bowled by Bravo and yielded only eight runs. After 10 overs, LSG had built a total of 98 without losing a wicket. Dwaine Pretorius revitalized CSK by removing the LSG captain, who was caught by Rayudu after a sharp running catch in the deep. Manish Pandey was the next to go, caught at half by Bravo off the bowling of Tushar Deshpande. LSG scored 15 from the 14th over, thanks of Evin Lewis' six and four, but CSK grabbed the crucial wicket of de Kock.

Deepak Hooda and Evin Lewis combined for two sixes and three fours before Bravo bowled Hooda to become the tournament's all-time leading wicket taker. Evin Lewis and youngster Ayush Badoni smashed 25 runs in the penultimate over, including two sixes and two fours, with 34 runs needed off the next two overs. Ayush Badoni capped off the chase with a maximum, propelling the Super Giants to their first-ever tournament victory.

The Chennai Super Kings, who were given the opportunity to bat first, made three changes to their lineup, naming Moeen Ali, Dwaine Pretorius, and Mukesh Choudhary in the eleven. The Super Kings scored 14 from the opening over, bowled by Avesh Khan, as Robin Uthappa opened the game with two exquisite drives for four. After Ruturaj Gaikwad was run out for one, Ravi Bishnoi took the maiden wicket for LSG with a fantastic presence of mind and great fielding effort.

Uthappa dominated the powerplay by slamming the ball all over the place with his impeccable timing, hitting eight fours and a six. After that, CSK were off to a flying start, scoring 73-1 after six overs, thanks to explosive left-handed batsman Moeen Ali, who played some stunning smashes early in his innings as CSK were off to a flying start. After being trapped lbw by Ravi Bishnoi, Uthappa's threatening innings of 50 off just 27 deliveries came to an end.

After Shivam Dube, who joined Moeen Ali, smashed three fours against Dushmantha Chameera in the 10th over, CSK raced beyond 100 runs. Avesh Khan's full-length delivery in the 11th over took out Moeen Ali. The flow of runs was continued by Shivam Dube and Ambati Rayudu, the new man on the crease, with Dube performing the brunt of the striking. Rayudu hit a massive six against Krunal Pandya with five overs to play, bringing the fifty partnership to an end for the fourth wicket.

Rayudu was bowled for 27 runs by Bishnoi, who struck at the opportune time for LSG. Dube, who slammed a massive six in the 18th over that nearly went out of the ground, was joined by captain Jadeja. After being caught by Evin Lewis on a superb catch in the deep, the left-handed batter fell one shy of his fiftyth run. MS Dhoni, the former CSK captain, hit a six to the off-side with his opening delivery and then a four in the last over.

On consecutive deliveries, pacer Andrew Tye removed skipper Ravindra Jadeja and Dwaine Pretorius, but Dhoni wrapped up the innings with a four as CSK produced a dominant total of 210/7.

Brief Scores:

Lucknow Super Giants: 211/4 (Quinton de Kock 61, Evin Lewis 55*; Dwaine Pretorius 2/31) 

Chennai Super Kings: 210/7  (Robin Uthappa 50, Shivam Dube 49; Ravi Bishnoi 2/24)

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed