Maharashtra Elections: All In The Family

by GoNews Desk 4 years ago Views 4138

Maharashtra Elections: All In The Family
The results of Maharashtra and Haryana assembly elections were declared on Thursday. One thing common was that both states saw a lot more candidates from political families either to carry their family legacy ahead or to gain victory against their own family members.

In 288-assembly Maharashtra, the BJP won 105 seats. Its ally Shiv Sena won 56 seats, taking their combined lead tally to 161 seats. From the Opposition camp, the Congress won 44 seats while its alliance partner Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) ended up with 54 seats.

Here’s a look at the electoral performance of the family members or relatives of prominent leaders, who contested the Maharashtra Assembly elections 2019.

Aditya Thackeray, the eldest son of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, won from the Worli assembly constituency in Mumbai, defeating his NCP rival Suresh Mane.

Nitesh Narayana Rane, son of former Minister Narayana Rane, won on a BJP ticket from Kankavli region and defeated Sena candidate Satish Sawant.

Ajit Pawar, the nephew of NCP chief Sharad Pawar, won from the Baramati assembly seat, defeating BJP’s candidate Gopichand Padalkar.

Pankaja Munde, daughter of Gopinath Munde, who had contested on a BJP ticket lost in Parli to her estranged cousin and NCP candidate, Dhananjay Munde.

Rohit Pawar, the grandson of Sharad Pawar, snatched the Karjat-Jamshed constituency from BJP leader and sitting MLA, Ram Shinde.

Amit Deshmukh, INC candidate and son of former CM Vilasrao Deshmukh, won the constituency seat from Latur city. He had contested against BJP’s Shailesh Lahoti.

His brother Dhiraj Deshmukh also won the constituency seat from Latur Rural constituency on a Congress ticket.

Rohini Khadse, daughter of senior BJP leader Eknath Khadse tasted defeat by losing to an independent candidate in the Muktainagar constituency.

Ashok Chavan — son of Shankarrao Chavan and former CM of Maharashtra —  won a battle of prestige by defeating BJP’s Shrinivas alias Bapusaheb Deshmukh Gorthekar in Bhokar assembly seat.

Praniti Shinde, daughter of former minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, won as a Congress candidate from the Solapur City Central constituency.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Facebook Feed